How much does a DUI cost in Pennsylvania?

How much does a DUI cost in Pennsylvania?

| Apr 2, 2021 | drunk driving |

When charged with driving under the influence, your first thoughts may immediately go to the possibility of jail time. While you may face a possible jail sentence, other consequences of your arrest may hit harder.

If you face DUI charges, you may benefit from understanding the full financial cost of your arrest.

Arrest-related fines and fees

According to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, if you plead guilty to DUI charges or if the court finds you guilty, you may face a traffic fine and other fees. Depending on various factors, including your blood alcohol content at the time of your accident, the court may order you to pay a fine of anywhere from $300 to $10,000.

Vehicle-related fines and fees

Following an arrest for suspected DUI, law enforcement may tow and impound your vehicle. You bear the financial responsibility for the costs of such actions, however. Towing your vehicle may have a flat fee of $50 plus the cost of milage and impound of your vehicle may range from $75 to $175 per day.

Administrative fines and fees

As part of your sentencing, the court may require you to participate in an alcohol evaluation and an education or treatment program. The cost for an alcohol evaluation may range from $35 to $100, while alcohol education and treatment programs may cost from $100 to $1,000 or more. You may also have to pay an accelerated rehabilitative disposition fee of between $100 and $1,800.

In addition to the financial toll, getting arrested for alleged drunk driving may bring other personal and professional repercussions and consequences.

Archives

FindLaw Network